Which EU politicians refused to label Russia a sponsor of terror? | Russia-Ukraine war News | Al Jazeera

Which EU politicians refused to label Russia a sponsor of terror? | Russia-Ukraine war News | Al Jazeera

The European Parliament on Wednesday adopted a resolution declaring Russia a state “sponsor of terrorism” over its war in Ukraine.

“The deliberate attacks and atrocities committed by Russian forces and their proxies against civilians in Ukraine, the destruction of civilian infrastructure and other serious violations of international and humanitarian law amount to acts of terror and constitute war crimes,” the European Parliament said.

In total, 494 members of the European Parliament (MEPS) voted in favour of the resolution, 58 were against and 44 abstained.

The largely symbolic move is unlikely to make an impact, because the European Union – unlike the United States – does not have the legal framework to designate countries. Across the Atlantic, on the US list are North Korea, Syria, Cuba and Iran.

The EU established its terror list in 2001, following the September 11 attacks in New York.

It includes people, groups and entities and is reviewed at least every six months.

ISIL (ISIS) and al-Qaeda armed groups are among those currently on the list.

Which members voted against the resolution?

Russia is the first country to be declared a state sponsor of terrorism by the European Parliament.

However, members were not unanimous in their voting, with a larger proportion of the right-wing bloc of the Parliament against the association of Russia with terrorism.

Twenty-six members of the far-right political group Identity and Democracy voted against designating Russia as a sponsor of terrorism.

Here is a breakdown of votes by country, home country party, and member:

These French politicians who voted against the resolution are all members of the National Rally or Rassemblement National, which is led by Marine Le Pen.

The following German politicians who voted against the resolution are all members of the far-right Alternative for Germany or Alternative für Deutschland party (AfD).

Czech MEPs, who are members of the populist Freedom and Direct Democracy party, or Svoboda a přímá demokracie:

One member of the centre-right European Conservatives and Reformist Group voted against the resolution:

Twelve members from the centre-left Progressive Alliance of the Socialists and Democrats voted against the resolution.

From Bulgaria – all with the centre-left Bulgarian Socialist Party:

From Germany – all with the Social Democratic Party of Germany or Sozialdemokratische Partei Deutschlands (SPD), which is the party of Chancellor Olaf Scholz:

From Italy – these three politicians belong to Partito Democratico or the Democratic Party:

From Slovakia:

Ten members of the Left group in the European Parliament voted against the resolution:

From Belgium:

From Cyprus:

From Czech Republic:

From Germany (​​DIE LINKE. party, or The Left party):

From Portugal (Partido Comunista Português, or Portuguese Communist Party – a Marxist-Leninist group)

From Ireland (Independents 4 Change):

From Spain:

Nine MEPs who are not affiliated with any political grouping also voted against the resolution:

This content was originally published here.

More To Read

News and Information Picked For You

Business News


Latest Entertainment and Celebrity News

Entertainment News


Latest Entertainment and Celebrity News

lifestyle and Living


More Living and Lifestyle News

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *